Friday, April 30, 2010

Quick review on TableNinja and the Belkin N52TE speedpad

While perusing my normal RSS poker feeds, I came across DoubleFly's blog entry about his poker setup.  Normally, I am quick to discard these types of entries - most players have the same setup: one or two screens spanning, a laptop (1920x1080) [similar to my setup], or something of a cross between the two.  However, DoubleFly's input devices are different from the standard; he uses a keyboard and mouse just like everyone else, but he couples that with a Belkin N52TE, a device that I did not even know existed.  Although I'm not a hard-core gamer, I used to play a lot of Grand Theft Auto, Battlefield series, Call of Duty, etc...  I'm into gaming enough that I purchased a machine last year for the sole purpose of being my gaming rig.  All of that said, I had no idea a device like this even existed!

So, I started looking into purchasing one because I realized that after particularly long sessions, my wrists would wind up hurting me, and my shoulders would feel fatigued.  I figured this device may be worth looking into, so I started tracking ebay auctions to see if I could get one on the cheap (not knowing whether it would be useful or not).  I finally found one; the total price [including shipping] was $31.50.  I went so far as to contact DoubleFly and find out the details of his configuration.  Apparently, he uses TableNinja's HotKeys and Utilities together with the N52TE, to be able to configure the device to use the "macros" that TableNinja provides.  Upon receiving it, it sat for probably 2 weeks prior to me finally getting around to testing it out last night.  All I can say is: "Wow!"  I should have gotten off my lazy ass a long time ago and tried this thing out.  It is AWESOME!  Let me explain:

The speedpad acts as a key-limited keyboard.  It contains something like 16 keys, a mouse scroll wheel, and a joystick.  I don't envision using the latter, but the former - 16 keys - can be set up coupled with TableNinja's HotKeys beta version for Full Tilt to perform table actions such as fold, raise, call, etc.  Essentially, the Belkin device acts as an ergonomic device to replace 16 keys on your keyboard, while TableNinja hooks into Full Tilt to assign keyboard shortcuts to mouse button clicks.  TableNinja also sets up Full Tilt's windows such that you can simply move your mouse from one window to another and bring focus to whichever window your mouse happens to be hovering over (similar to Red Hat Linux's default window manager if you've ever used that).  The software, standalone, is awesome.  When you couple it with the gaming device, it becomes a powerhouse!

Essentially, my left hand stays stationary and clicks keys for my actions, while my right hand is moving between windows, without the (since I'm on a laptop) stretch to click the mouse button on the trackpad.  All I need to do is slide the mouse lazily from one window to another.  If I happen to be single tabling, I don't need to move the mouse at all!  Since the speedpad is ergonomic, no longer is there any hunt-n-pecking at the keyboard; my hand is naturally laid out on the device to easily get to all of the keys.  Not only are my actions greatly sped up; I know I'm quick-folding FAR faster at the Rush tables, but my wrist and shoulders hurt far less.

TableNinja allows me to bind any key combination to any action, and so long as the N52TE setup matches the TableNinja setup, the setup is a thing of beauty.  For anyone who puts in 1-2 hours+ during your sessions, this is a purchase for you!  I highly recommend it!

Edit:  Please note that until you get 100% comfortable with the N52TE setup, you are going to run into misclick situations.  I have already had 2-3 "misclicks" from the N52TE, because I kinda natually reached over to the call button instead of the fold button (ouch!)...  Just be aware that you should test it out at low stakes and get adjusted to it first!

What would you do? #96 - Facing 2/3 pot sized river bet on scary low board

Full Tilt Poker $0.25/$0.50 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

Hero (SB): $53.30
BB: $17.25
UTG: $263.15
UTG+1: $118.40 - 32/16 / 67% steal / 7.7% 3bet / 4.0 aggression factor (which I think is relevant)
UTG+2: $18.75
MP1: $30.65
MP2: $50.00
CO: $60.85 - 16/13 / 23% steal / 13.3% 3bet / 4.7 aggression factor
BTN: $49.10

Pre Flop: ($0.75) Hero is SB with 8s 8d
1 fold, UTG+1 calls $0.50, 1 fold, MP1 calls $0.50, 1 fold, CO calls $0.50, 1 fold, Hero raises to $3.50, 1 fold, UTG+1 calls $3, 1 fold, CO calls $3
Not a normal raise; I am out of position with a middle pairHowever, given the LAG-giness of UTG+1, I want to at least isolate so I don't have to face 4 players with a marginal pair post flop.  Really, though, I'm looking to cbet and fade a bad turn with a non-Ace, non-King flop after I get the 2 callers.

Flop: ($11.50) 3s 5h 6d (3 players)
Hero bets $7, UTG+1 calls $7, CO calls $7
As decent of a flop as it's going to get for 88.  All undercards sets up a random straight draw.


Turn: ($32.50) 3h (3 players)
Hero checks, UTG+1 checks, CO checks
The 3 actually helps me, but I can't really bet into this pot without committing far too much money.  I'm not folding here, but the 3 eliminates a set of 3's, and without a flop raise, sets of 5's and 6's are out.  Plus, the paired board eliminates my need to worry about a flopped 2 pair 65 combo.  Weird that it checked through.

River: ($32.50) 4d (3 players)
Hero checks, UTG+1 bets $19, CO requests TIME, CO folds, Hero ??? 
Bad card hits, though.  87 is now in play...  UTG+1 fires the bet almost before I hit the check button; instantaneously...  what are you doing here?


Click to see results




Hero calls $19
To be honest, I think this was more of a "gut feel" call. I just couldn't buy the way the hand played out. I check through the turn with a paired board. I don't buy that he's pretty much making a river commitment bet given the way the hand plays out. Jordan talks about reads - and here is an example of an online read... He just sorta fired it out quickly, like he would have done that despite any river card.

Final Pot: $70.50
Hero shows 8s 8d (two pair, Eights and Threes)
UTG+1 shows 8h 9h (a pair of Threes)
Hero wins $67.50
(Rake: $3.00)

Thursday, April 29, 2010

Winner winner chicken dinner - Book a Mook win

Sorry to steal a line from Will Wonka, but I won the Mookie / Dank last night, and "I got a golden ticket" to a seat at The Battle of the Bloggers 5 Tournament of Champions, scheduled for May 27!  If you're interested, the summary of events can be found on many sites - the one that I've been using is via AlCantHang's site (can't get to anything poker-related other than blogspot addresses at work).

I'm very excited about this; first, I don't play (nor win for that matter) tournaments.  In fact, I'm a crappy tournament player, on the basis that I like to have deep pockets and auto-top off, as I do in my cash games.  However, now that I've won the Mookie, I have the opportunity to play to win one of 3 seats to the WSOP ME, or 2 $2K packages to preliminary events, in which, as it turns out, there should be approximately 18 runners...  Quick math says that's a 1 in 4 shot assuming everyone is of equal poker ability.  Kick a$$!!!

Before I began the tournament, I told myself that I was either taking first or nothing at all.  I think my play clearly evidenced that - I took at least 2 coin flips that I didn't necessarily need to take, but wanted to either crush the thing or get out.  I'd imagine playing against a guy who has decided he has nothing to lose is a dangerous opponent...

Since I had a nothing-to-lose attitude, I was playing quite aggressively early.  I was able to chip up to within 5th place from the get-go, and got as high as 4.5K in chips with blinds at the 20-40 level.  I 3bet a few opponents and was able to take down pots uncontested.  My initial table was very tight, so I took maximum advantage.  However, I was on a chip roller coaster; since I was willing to gamble, I was up and down quite a bit.  Details are fuzzy (play finally ended at 1:30AM [YAWN!], but I captured some of the hands from memory.

Hands of note included (and I'm sorry I don't remember my opponent's name) "Mr. X" slow playing KK against my early position raise with 33.  A [solid flop for underpairs] flop of something like 2 6 8 came, with my stack dwindling down to 1500-2K early on, with blinds at the 80-120 level if I recall.  I cbet and he pushed with his 4-5K stack.  I decided to call and was shown the bad news; I had a ~10% shot of being busted out early - no big deal; I've been on the rail before, and I would be out in 70th.  Fortunately, a 3 on the river saved my butt and the tournament.  Reinvigorated, I was able to steal, and 3bet a few pots to bring my stack up to respectable levels.

Throughout the rest of the tourney, standard playing ensued... win some, lose some...  I seemed to have the hands I needed at the time I needed them - AA vs. a small stack push (I think suited connectors) where I flopped a set and rivered quads...  As the big stack bully, pushing ATCs and finally getting a call from a mid-stacker from whom I was stealing, where I show up with QQ (need to be consistently shoving all hands and ranges, so I got "lucky" that he called with the hand he had) and I think he had 88... etc.  All in all, I ran well as well as (outside of the 33 into KK) played pretty decently.  In fact, outside of the hand above, I think I flipped approx. 4 times (losing once to a short stack) - all other times I was a decent favorite (75%+) to win, and did not get sucked out on.  Most hands simply did not go to showdown, though.  As big-ish stack, I was able to push people off of their [presumably] better hands by sheer might.  Lastly, I did not see J9s at all last night :-(.

The two primary coinflips that I took were both against the chip lead at the time, Lucko, (whose site I have linked, but I'm not 100% certain it's the same person).  The fist time, I had finally settled into a recently rebalanced table with Lucko as the chip lead (50K) and I had ~15K and [I think] 88.  I noticed that he had become quite aggressive with his stacks, as a big stack should.  He was stealing liberally from most if not all positions, and I finally had a hand where I felt comfortable 3betting his range.  He decided to auto shove his AQo and my 88 held to push me up to ~30K and him down to ~35K.

Lucko would continue to pressure the smaller stacks, and I would join in on the fun, trying to avoid Lucko when possible.  Again, though, I had it in my mind that I was there to win - if I had to take an educated gamble, I would not think twice about doing so.  I don't remember what the stack sizes were, but Lucko raises as was typical (I had him covered) and I 3bet my 66 in position.  This would be the final time Lucko & I would tango; he pushed and I decided to call against his wide-ish range.  In retrospect, I had 3bet him once or twice in prior hands, where he gave up his cards and I took it down uncontested.  I probably should have thought about the fact that he was showing respect to my 3bets a little more before making the call, but I snapped it off figuring that I would either go out in a blaze of glory (from chip lead to last), essentially handing him the monster stack, or vice-versa.  He turned out to have AK against my 66, and I think there was a 6 was in the window... my hand held up.  I wish I had the hand history here at work, but we're debating it over at Bayne's blog if anyone cares...  Perhaps Lucko has the HH & prior action?  My HUD had Lucko running around a 35/25 or something like that.

The tournament came down to Poker Grump, Fmarra17, and me as the final 3.  I had the chip lead until I made (will be disputed but I have a later post about this) a DONKEY STUPID STUPID call with 8d5d against a Grump shove with A8o.  Now, I claim this call to be a misclick; I just bought a N52TE speed pad, and clicked the "call" button instead of "fold," but c'est la vie and believe me or don't :-), Grump was now chip lead slightly (READ: PRETTY DAMN COSTLY MISTAKE!).  After I knocked out the short-stacked Fmarra17 on a flip (my A8 AIPF vs. his 44), things were settled for what I expected to be a long HU match between the two hard core cash players (well one hard core [Grump] and one donkey [me]).

Funny that neither of us wasted any time, as I think the whole HU match lasted 3 hands(?), where I was able to get it all in as a decent favorite with 99 vs. Grump's A8.  To his credit, I know he knows that I was aggressive as anything last night - he was at the table where I called the shove with 33 into the KK, and he also saw me pushing like 4-5 hands in a row earlier, and other such erratic volatile play (the supposed 85s misclick call), so it's possible that he put me on ATCs and making a play right off the bat.  Either way, no Ace came, and my 9's were good to win the match.  (I did save this HH.)



Full Tilt Poker The Mookie No Limit Hold'em Tournament - t1000/t2000 Blinds + t250 - 2 players
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

Hero (BTN/SB): t148966         M = 42.56
BB: t112034                              M = 32.01

Pre Flop: (t3500) Hero is BTN/SB with 9s 9d
Hero raises to t6000, BB raises to t18000, Hero raises to t148716 all in, BB calls t93784 all in

Flop: (t224068) Jh 5c Ks

Turn: (t224068) 2s

River: (t224068) Tc

Final Pot: t224068
Hero shows 9s 9d (a pair of Nines)
BB shows 8h As (Ace King high)
Hero wins t224068


Congratulations to all who cashed.  It was a lot of fun getting to talk with all of you.  CMitch - thanks for the rail support (everyone else picked whomever was short stack at the given time :-P ).  Finally, a hearty congratulations to Grump & Frankie / Fmarra17 - it was definitely a great time.  A final thank you to alcanthang and the crew from Full Tilt for setting up the whole BBT5, and graciously giving the prizes.

The final table read as follows, for those interested:
333 total hands split between 2 tables, starting at 10:00PM and ending at 1:30AM with 87 runners.

What would you do?#95 - Bottom set, facing flop 200BB shove

Full Tilt Poker $0.10/$0.25 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

BTN: $20.99
SB: $15.57 - 51 / 2 @ 60 hands
BB: $48.07 - No read
UTG: $29.97
UTG+1: $21.54
UTG+2: $2.63
MP1: $20.62
Hero (MP2): $54.89
CO: $24.21

Pre Flop: ($0.35) Hero is MP2 with 9s 9d
UTG raises to $0.75, 3 folds, Hero calls $0.75, CO calls $0.75, 1 fold, SB calls $0.65, BB calls $0.50

Flop: ($3.75) Kd 9h Jd (5 players)
SB checks, BB checks, UTG bets $2.50, Hero calls $2.50, CO folds, SB calls $2.50, BB raises to $6, UTG calls $3.50, Hero calls $3.50, SB raises to $14.82 all in, BB raises to $47.32 all in, UTG folds, Hero requests TIME, Hero ???


Click to see results




Hero folds
This was a very tough. At first, I was concerned about a higher set - KK or JJ, but the initial raiser folded (UTG). Given that BB is so deep stacked, I have to believe him in that he's repping the nuts, though, QT. Moreso, I'm assuming it's not diamonds because I think he'd continue flatting. If UTG doesn't shove, I'm flatting this flop and taking a turn card. As played, though, I need to fold this - and correctly do so.

Turn: ($45.39) Kc (2 players - 2 are all in) - Would have hit my boat. DAMN!!!

River: ($45.39) 7h (2 players - 2 are all in)

Final Pot: $45.39
SB shows 6d Td (a pair of Kings)
BB shows Qh Th (a straight, King high)
BB wins $43.13
(Rake: $2.26)

Wednesday, April 28, 2010

Sick hand: Quads - Suck -> re-suck

This is one sick f*ing hand! Look at this sucker!!!

Full Tilt Poker $0.25/$0.50 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

CO: $53.05
BTN: $81.40
SB: $54.30
BB: $50.00
UTG: $16.65
UTG+1: $47.10
UTG+2: $51.65
MP1: $48.85
Hero (MP2): $80.95

Pre Flop: ($0.75) Hero is MP2 with 6s 6d
UTG calls $0.50, UTG+1 raises to $2.25, 2 folds, Hero raises to $8, CO requests TIME, CO calls $8, 4 folds, UTG+1 calls $5.75
I don't remember why I 3-bet, but I had a good reason.  I'm pretty certain that stats-wise, UTG+1 was raising wide (as evidenced on the flop with his check / fold)...

Flop: ($25.25) 6c 3d 3s (3 players)
UTG+1 checks, Hero checks, CO bets $12, UTG+1 folds, Hero calls $12
I was not happy about CO, if I recall.  I think CO was like a 5/0 or something...  I knew I had to hit this flop squarely in order to get paid.  Could it be any better of a flop?  I fully expect him to think his trappy PF flat of QQ+ is still good.  I'm going to let him keep value betting his chips.

Turn: ($49.25) Kc (2 players)
Hero checks, CO bets $11, Hero calls $11
I don't know why, but I had the distinct feeling that the King smacked CO in the face.  I had planned on check / raising a non- King non- Ace turn card, given his 5/0 stats (what else is a 5% VPIP player overlimping a 3bet with?)  I flat him for the second time, *HOPING* that he has AK, not a turned set of Kings.  I have also underrepped the strength of my hand at this point, so I don't think we're going to be playing for stacks on the river, but with most of the money in the middle, it's possible.  I think I'm folding a shove here - yeah, I'm 85% sure that he turned an over boat.

River: ($71.25) 6h (2 players)
Hero bets $22.05, CO calls $22.05 all in
WOW!  I 1-outted him!  How often When am I *EVER* on the good side of this situation?  I went from being happy that I only had 100BBs to wishing I had 500BBs.  Sick hand!  I don't think he really cares what I have at this point; I've repped 6's or 3's full, or AA (PF 3bet), but he knows he's got the non-quad nuts.

Final Pot: $115.35
CO mucks Kh Kd
Hero shows 6s 6d (four of a kind, Sixes)
Hero wins $112.35
(Rake: $3.00)

What would you do? #94 - Overpair facing turn all-in

Full Tilt Poker $0.25/$0.50 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

MP2: $15.25
CO: $52.85
BTN: $97.45
SB: $55.35 - 71.4 / 0% /0% 3bet @ 7 hands
BB: $85.90
Hero (UTG): $61.85
UTG+1: $164.85
UTG+2: $40.00
MP1: $52.90

Pre Flop: ($0.75) Hero is UTG with Td Th
Hero raises to $2, 6 folds, SB calls $1.75, 1 fold

Flop: ($4.50) 6c 2h 7c (2 players)
SB bets $4.50, Hero calls $4.50

Turn: ($13.50) 6d (2 players)
SB bets $48.85 all in, Hero ???
I'm asking what does the paired 6 have to do with any of this? I don't believe he's shoving for value by hugely overbetting pot if he actually has a made hand like he's trying to represent. Purely, his overbet looks suspicious...


Click to see results



Hero calls $48.85

River: ($111.20) 2d (2 players - 1 is all in)

Final Pot: $111.20
SB shows 8s 8h (two pair, Eights and Sixes)
Hero shows Td Th (two pair, Tens and Sixes)
Hero wins $108.20
(Rake: $3.00)

Tuesday, April 27, 2010

What would you do? #93 Facing turn shove with two pair

Full Tilt Poker $0.25/$0.50 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

SB: $27.40
Hero (BB): $129.25
UTG: $86.05
UTG+1: $55.60
UTG+2: $50.40
MP1: $63.10
MP2: $43.10
CO: $91.15
BTN: $49.25 - 38/29 / 60% steal 12.5% 3bet 10.0 AF

Pre Flop: ($0.75) Hero is BB with Kc Qd
6 folds, BTN raises to $1.75, 1 fold, Hero raises to $5.50, BTN calls $3.75
60% steal; I'm 3betting him here. He's likely to be stealing - and he has a wide stealing range.

Flop: ($11.25) 2h Qc Ac (2 players)
Hero checks, BTN checks

Turn: ($11.25) Kd (2 players)
Hero bets $6.50, BTN raises to $43.75 all in, Hero ???
What would you do in this spot? $35 call to win $100... Is 2 pair good in this spot?


Click to see results



Hero folds
If I'm wrong, I think there are definitely worse folds that I can be making.

Final Pot: $24.25
BTN wins $23.05
(Rake: $1.20)

Monday, April 26, 2010

Live poker & a What would you do...

I played a little live poker last night; I've been trying to get my old home game back together in good order.  I wrote about it last week, though this week, we had around 9 players (instead of the 12 from last week).  Most of the players at the home game are fairly straight-forward, but there was one noob last night, who would call all-ins (PRE FLOP NO LESS) with any Ace; A4o was good for a call of a $30 shove...  He simply would not fold his Ace-rags...  Whatever...  He fits the mold perfectly - he's my wife's cousin; a Moroccan Jew who would typify the Israeli mindset (or, I guess, Middle Eastern mindset) of "I love to GAMBOOOL it up!!!!"  Picture Sammy Farha without Sammy Farha's knowledge of math and outs.  It would be between him and another crazian from last week, whose game I don't necessarily respect, but is capable of strong moves which he knows are fairly un-callable.  For now, let's call crazian "Spew monkey," because I have no doubt that in my recap of future home games, he'll be a fixture.

A little description of Spew Monkey prior to my "What would you do?":  Spew monkey, if I were to put it into online terms, is a 60 VPIP / 40 PFR - with an off-the-chart aggression factor.  He makes reasonably good reads where he picks on weak players holding marginal cards, and makes bets large enough, as I described before, which he knows the weaker players won't call.  He will stack off without a second thought on a top-top hand, and will second-think himself, but won't be afraid to make a stack off call with TP no kicker.  In fact, a few hands prior, he would stack off to my Aces on a 2 6 T (two-tone) board with JTs (non-drawing), where he raised pre-flop, out of position, and I 3bet him to $7.50.  He check / raised my flop lead to $25 (I led for $10 and I shipped the effective remaining stack sizes of $50, full knowing that he was capable of this play with any top pair, overpair, or flush draw.  He essentially instantly called my shove, and sucked out on the turn with a Jack.  Given the prior hand, he know sits stuck for ~$50 (he had re-bought approx. 3 times, and now sits on $100).

This hand brings up a question though:  I'm the dealer, and I accidentally flipped UTG's card while dealing, exposing the Ad.  As is standard procedure in our game, we use the exposed card as the flop burn card and re-deal the would-be burn card as the replacement.  I'm sitting on the button, facing a raise from Spew Monkey, holding AA (obviously non-diamond :-) ).  Given the exposed card, I have to 3bet there, right?  I should consider my hand into a made hand at this point, correct?  If I hit the 1 remaining out, bonus, but I have to 3bet here; I'm not slow playing, right?  If the same situation is with 22-TT, etc., I'm likely folding the raise, but with AA, there's a lot of hands that I beat on the flop (as evidenced) that I have to play it the same, exposed card or not, right?

Anyway, now onto the WWYD:

I'm in the middle position, sitting on a stack of approx. $60.  Spew Monkey has me covered (~$80-90; he bled away a few chips after the suckout to crazian plays), and waanabe Farha has us both covered with ~$150 (he'd been hitting improbable Aces and 2 pairs all night by getting rewarded by the deck, but those Middle Eastern types *ALWAYS* have the luck of Allah / God / Buddha (for the Far Eastern types) it seems!!!  Mental note:  I need to become more religious, because I want the F*ING LUCK!!!  Anyway, back to the hand...  Spew Monkey is UTG and raises to $3, a fairly standard aggro-move for him.  Farha calls the $3; he's a calling station who VPIPs about 97, and PFRs about 10.  I call with my KTo - normally not a call for me in my position with 5 more players to act, but given my position over the big stack / volatile players, I'm trying to get into the action.  Everyone else folds and we got to a flop 3-way.  Flop comes K 5 3 rainbow.  Spew monkey checks, Farha checks, and I check (I feel like I lead this flop and I will either get hammered on with a check / raise, or I will lose my customers because they missed entirely).  Turn puts a J on the board and puts a two-flush draw out there.  Checks around to me and I [finally] lead for something like $8 (into a $10 pot).  Both players call.  River is a 3-flushing Ten, giving me two pair, and completing an AQ straight and a back-doored flush - a possible hand for either player to be calling without pot odds, but perhaps suspecting implied odds (?); neither of them really care about mathematics.  Checks around to me again - I'm looking at a ~$34 pot, and I want value.  I have seen both players check / call 2 streets - which leads me to believe that they are weak.  I settle on 1/3 pot; not wanting to commit a HUGE amount, but also not wanting to scare my customers away.  I want them to feel comfortable with the call because they've called with Ace high for a lot more, but they know the style in which I play - TAG - and usually give me credit for a hand.  So it gets back to Spew Monkey, who comes over the top for a raise to $50 straight.  I am not great with tells, but I am familiar with bet sizing and patterns and here are the prior facts:  As mentioned, he's stuck for a buy-in, and looking to "get even!" as stated in prior action.  I've never seen him check raise big on the river, but he is well capable of this type of move on other streets.  He is a bully.  Even though he was happy with the results of the JT hand described prior, I feel like he's tilting a little bit because he knows he misread me.  Oh yeah, Farha folds, and I'm left facing a $40 raise; the remainder of my stack.  Are you making the call?


Click to see results


Here's what was going through my head: is villain ever making this move given he knows my style of play? Given the T is such a scary card, if he made his hand, he's got to be expecting a check through in this spot; the majority of players in the world are not value betting this river card. He also thinks that my 1/3 pot bet is very weak - he believes that I'm scared of the T, which completes a lot of possible draws. He also knows his image is reckless aggro, potentially raising ATC pre-flop, which allows him to backdoor many hands. But the reality is that it comes down to this: is he ever checking a made hand with the hopes of check / raising, given that the river card is such a scary river card? No - I feel like he's value betting the river in order to get some value while he's finally ahead. I make the call and he auto-mucks.

For the night, I won $88 - not a bad 2-week take for the home game. I'm so happy that I pushed the buy ins to full 100BB stacks! It's working out very well for me :-)!!!

One final minor issue / note: What do you do when you nor your opponent are sure whether you had them covered, but you've already dragged a large pot into your stack? After the hand above was over, Spew Monkey tossed me his $50 in chips and I immediately proceeded to stack and organize my chips. Neither he nor I realized that it was really close as to whether I had the $50 covered until after I finished stacking. I think the difference would have been no more than $5, but still - I'm not looking to cheat anyone. I believe that he thinks the same (I'm not angle shooting), though I tend to be honest to a fault (when he mucked his cards, he was fine with me mucking mine but I felt compelled to show just to be sure that the rules were followed; can't win a hand without showing the cards). So, without the help of videotape, how do you make sure a situation like that is proper and there are no hurt feelings? He seemed to be completely fine with the way it went down, but still... Any opinions on how to make the situation good for the both of us?

EDIT:  Let the record show that my wife's cousin read this and was a little miffed that I compared him to a Sammy Farha and not the Israeli "Eli... forget his last name not some stupid arab".  LOL!

What would you do? #92 - facing flop shove holding KK

From Rush:

Full Tilt Poker $0.50/$1 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

BTN: $59.55
SB: $109.45 - 91 hands / 14.8 / 4.5 / 3bet 3% / 0% steal
Hero (BB): $616.00 - *LOVING* my stack size, LOL!!!
UTG: $100.00
UTG+1: $155.10
UTG+2: $107.45
MP1: $93.20
MP2: $198.05
CO: $210.30 - 10 hands / 70/60/ 3bet 60% / 33% steal

Pre Flop: ($1.50) Hero is BB with Kd Ks
2 folds, UTG+2 raises to $3, 2 folds, CO raises to $10.50, BTN calls $10.50, SB calls $10, Hero raises to $35, 1 fold, CO calls $24.50, 1 fold, SB calls $24.50
CO and I are deep, so I think I can move up to $35, PF, and get a call. I'm actually surprised to see SB come along, committing ~35% of his stack.

Flop: ($118.50) 4s Js 4c (3 players)
SB checks, Hero checks, CO bets $36.50, SB raises to $74.45 all in, Hero ???

Click to see results



This flop appears to be the perfect type of flop for an overpair such as I have. The only "reasonable" hand that my opponents can have which beats me is JJ or a slowed-down AA. Given that CO is a total LAGtard, I'm not quite sure what SB is doing shipping, other than the air/monster polarization ship...
Hero raises to $112.40, CO folds
Given the pot size and remaining stack sizes, I'd prefer to cut spade draws out of the picture, but given that I have the Ks, it's not a terrible thing to see a spade draw still hanging around. However, my raise leaves little left for CO, in terms of implied odds. I have about $60 remaining.

Turn: ($303.90) 3h (2 players - 1 is all in)

River: ($303.90) 9d (2 players - 1 is all in)

Final Pot: $303.90
SB shows 5d 6d (a pair of Fours)
Hero shows Kd Ks (two pair, Kings and Fours)
Hero wins $300.90
(Rake: $3.00)

Friday, April 23, 2010

What would you do? #91 - Facing flop shove holding QQ

Full Tilt Poker $0.50/$1 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter
CO: $100.00 - 8/6/0.5%3bet @ 694 hands
BTN: $178.05
SB: $131.05
BB: $487.75
UTG: $368.00
UTG+1: $62.85 - 58/11/0%3bet @ 9 hands
Hero (UTG+2): $491.45
MP1: $137.00
MP2: $115.55

Pre Flop: ($1.50) Hero is UTG+2 with Qh Qd
1 fold, UTG+1 raises to $4, Hero raises to $13.50, 2 folds, CO raises to $24, 3 folds, UTG+1 raises to $62.85 all in, 1 fold, CO calls $38.85
Given the action (5bet shove), are you calling (gulp), folding, or re-shipping? What would you do?


Click to see results



Flop: ($140.70) 8h 9h 5c

Turn: ($140.70) Jd

River: ($140.70) Kh

Final Pot: $140.70
CO shows Ac As (a pair of Aces) - Come on; an 8/6 with a *0.5%* 3bet? What ELSE can he have?
UTG+1 shows Ad Ks (a pair of Kings)
CO wins $137.70
(Rake: $3.00)

Thursday, April 22, 2010

What would you do? #90 - Facing Flop shove with KK on a 4bet PF pot

I think I'm obsessing too much over KK. From the Rush tables (with a bit of history):

Full Tilt Poker $0.50/$1 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

UTG: $116.35
Hero (UTG+1): $134.10
UTG+2: $270.90
MP1: $331.50 - 43/29/0%3bet @ 7 hands
MP2: $151.80
CO: $35.50
BTN: $141.50
SB: $296.50 - 38/22/14.3%3bet @ 18 hands
BB: $119.70

Pre Flop: ($1.50) Hero is UTG+1 with Kh Ks
1 fold, Hero raises to $4, 1 fold, MP1 raises to $13.50, 3 folds, SB raises to $23, 1 fold, Hero calls $19, MP1 calls $9.50

Flop: ($70.00) Qc 8h Qs (3 players)
SB checks, Hero checks, MP1 bets $70, SB raises to $273.50 all in, Hero requests TIME, Hero folds, MP1 folds

Should this be a snap call? I can't imagine him SB 4betting without AA, and check/raise shoving the flop without a monster AA or QQ. I also think it's very possible that MP1 has quads, etc. I'm stuck as the monkey in the middle with $23 committed. Given the pre-flop action, should I have folded KK?
I think I'm coming around full circle, where I should be shoving KK and not worry about running into AA? Maybe? Nah.

Final Pot: $210.00
SB wins $207.00
(Rake: $3.00)

Wednesday, April 21, 2010

What would you do?#89 - Flush facing river raise on paired board

Rush Poker:

Full Tilt Poker $0.50/$1 No Limit Hold'em - 9 players
The Official DeucesCracked.com Hand History Converter

BTN: $261.55
SB: $51.35
Hero (BB): $282.15
UTG: $35.70
UTG+1: $66.10
UTG+2: $98.45
MP1: $104.70 - [[AUTO GEN Hands: 328/VPIP:9.5/PFR:7.4/ATS:31.82/3Bet:.9]]
MP2: $185.30
CO: $43.15

Pre Flop: ($1.50) Hero is BB with 3c 6c
1 fold, UTG+1 raises to $3, 1 fold, MP1 calls $3, 4 folds, Hero calls $2
3 way flop with suited connectors. Easy call.

Flop: ($9.50) Jc 2s 2c (3 players)
Hero checks, UTG+1 checks, MP1 checks

Turn: ($9.50) 9c (3 players)
Hero bets $5, UTG+1 calls $5, MP1 calls $5
Turned flush.

River: ($24.50) Ks (3 players)
Hero bets $14, UTG+1 folds, MP1 raises to $45, Hero ???


Click to see results



(I included my chat at the time)

Hero has 15 seconds left to act
Hero: u hit your K huh
Hero: or set
Hero: of something
Hero: full

Hero folds
Anyone calling here? MP1 flopped or turned a boat / quads. Given the way he played it, check / flat / raise - is there any other interpretation? AcKc? Either way, it's rare to see a river bluff like this at 100nl; I think I'm going to be shown a better flush / boat / quads more often than calling the raise will make me profitable.

Opinions?

Final Pot: $52.50
MP1 wins $49.90
(Rake: $2.60)

Blog Archive